“I Hear An Army (of Amazon Drones)”

Amazon-drone1

a modern adaptation of the James Joyce poem, “I Hear an Army

I hear an army charging upon the land,
And the chatter of engines plunging; wind about their wings:
Arrogant, in stuffy cubicles, joysticks in hand,
Disdaining the keys, with trembling triggers, the Operateers.

They cry into the night their battle name:
I moan in sleep when I hear afar their whirling laughter.
They leave a fume that teems, nostrils aflame,
Clanging, clanging upon the nose as upon an anvil.

They come shaking in triumph their small grey frames:
They come out of the clouds and swoop shouting by the door.
My heart, have you no patience thus to disclaim?
My love, my love, my love, why have you sent me a drone?

underline connotes modification of original James Joyce poem

Leave a Reply

